Aadhaar is for everyone including infants transgenders and differently-abled.

Aadhaar is a 12 digit individual identification number issued by the Unique Identification Authority of India on behalf of the Government of India.

This number will serve as a proof of identity and address, anywhere in India. Aadhaar letter received via India Post and e-Aadhaar downloaded from UIDAI website are equally valid.

Any individual, irrespective of age and gender, who is a resident in India and satisfies the verification process laid down by the UIDAI can enrol for Aadhaar.

Each individual needs to enroll only once which is free of cost.

Each Aadhaar number will be unique to an individual and will remain valid for life. Aadhaar number will help you provide access to services like banking, mobile phone connections and other Govt and Non-Govt services in due course.

Some other information about Aadhaar:

Aadhaar will be:

      • Easily verifiable in an online, cost-effective way
      • Unique and robust enough to eliminate the large number of duplicate and fake identities in government and private databases
      • A random number generated, devoid of any classification based on caste, creed, religion and geography
#Aadhaar isAadhaar isn't
1. A 12-digit unique identity for every Indian individual, including children and infants Just another card
2. Enables identification for every resident Indian Only one Aadhaar card per family is enough
3. Establishes uniqueness of every individual on the basis of demographic and biometric information Collects profiling information such as caste, religion, and language
4. It is a voluntary service that every resident can avail irrespective of present documentation Mandatory for every Indian resident who has identification documents
5. Each individual will be given a single unique Aadhaar ID number An individual can obtain multiple Aadhaar ID numbers
6. Aadhaar will provide a universal identity infrastructure which can be used by any identity-based application (like ration card, passport, etc.) Aadhaar will replace all other IDs
7. UIDAI will give Yes/No answers to any identity authentication queries UIDAI information will be accessible to public and private agencies


FAQ for Direct Benefit Transfer of LPG

Aadhaar Acceptance Notifications
#Organization NameAadhaar Letter AcceptanceAadhaar e-KYC Acceptance
1. Reserve Bank Of India
2. Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority
3. Department of Revenue  
4. Securities and Exchange Board of India
5. Pensions Funds Regulation and Development Authority
6. Forward Markets Commission  
  Central Government    
1. Department of Telecommunications /Telecom Regulatory Authority of India  
2. Min of Panchayati Raj / RGSY  
3. Indian Railways  
4. Passport Seva  
5. Department of Revenue CBDT New Delhi for Income-tax Dept  
  State Government    
1. Govt of Himachal Pradesh  
2. Govt of UT Chandigarh  
3. Govt of Haryana  
4. Govt of Tripura  
5. Govt of Punjab  
6. Govt of Sikkim  
7. Govt of Jharkhand  
8. Govt of Andhra Pradesh  
9. Govt of Uttar Pradesh  
10. Govt of Karnataka